Understand the levels of safe browsing in Google Chrome; Which level is right for you? – Gadgets to use

Google introduced the Safe Browsing feature for Chrome in May 2020 to provide its users with a secure experience while surfing the internet. The feature is available for Chrome on Android as well as PC. Google offers certain levels of safe browsing which include standard, enhanced, and no protection at all. In this article, we’ll walk you through these safe browsing levels in Google Chrome and also tell you which level is best for you.

Also, read | 2 Ways To Stop Chrome From Asking To “ Save Password ” On Websites

Safe browsing levels in Google Chrome

1. Reinforced protection

This is the first level of safe browsing in Chrome and is recommended for everyone because of its features. It offers faster and more proactive protection against dangerous websites, downloads and extensions. This feature automatically alerts you of password breaches and sends browsing data to Google in the event of data or password theft.

This feature has additional security features such as:

  • It can predict dangerous events all the way through navigation and alerts you before something bad happens to you.
  • Besides keeping you safe on Chrome, it can also be used to improve your security in other Google apps when you are signed in with your Google Account.
  • This feature links security breach data to your Google Account. So when you are logged in, it can protect you in Google apps.
  • Along with this feature, Chrome also alerts you if your passwords are exposed during an online data breach.
  • Chrome sends URLs to Google Safe Browsing with a small sample of pages, downloads, extension activity, and system information to help you discover new threats and thereby improve security for you and everyone on. Internet.

Also, read | How to generate secure passwords using Chrome

2. Standard protection

Standard protection protects you from dangerous websites, downloads, and extensions. It also has additional security features:

  • This feature detects and alerts you to dangerous online events whenever they happen to you.
  • When this option is enabled, Google checks URLs with a list of unsafe websites stored in Chrome.
  • Additionally, when a site tries to steal your password or when you download a malicious file, Chrome will send these URLs, including parts of that page’s content, to Google.

In this level you will have to activate the following functionality yourself and these are not activated by default.

a) Help improve web security for everyone– When you enable this toggle, Chrome sends the URLs of certain pages you visit, system information, and certain page content to Google, which helps discover new threats and keep everyone on the internet safe.

b) Notify you if passwords are exposed during a data breach– You will also need to enable this feature in this setting so that Chrome regularly checks your passwords. By enabling this, your passwords and usernames are also encrypted, so that no one, including Google, can read them.

3. No protection (not recommended)

This level of secure browsing is not recommended to anyone. You will still have Safe Browsing protection when you choose “no protection”, such as in Google services including Gmail and Google Search, but Google will not protect you from dangerous or phishing websites, downloads and downloads. extensions.

What level of safe browsing is right for you?

As you can see from the last option, there will be no protection at all. This means that Chrome will not warn you when you visit an unsafe website and you will be more prone to malware and other attacks. In the second option, you will get standard protection, but you will have to enable two security features, which is still not the best level of security.

We therefore recommend that you use the first, i.e. enhanced protection. It will protect you from all dangerous websites, downloads and extensions. It will also alert you to password breaches and automatically send data to Google.

It was all about safe browsing in Google Chrome. Now you also know which level is best for you to stay safe online. If you like the article, please share it with other people. For more tips and tricks, stay tuned!

You can also follow us for instant tech news at Google News or for tips and tricks, smartphone and gadget reviews, join GadgetsToUse Telegram Group or for the latest review videos subscribe GadgetsToUse the Youtube channel.

Some other useful tips and tricks for you

Tech Technology